The Ecoegg has landed! A review and thorough testing

The Ecoegg has landed! A review and thorough testing

For the past couple of weeks I have been reviewing the Ecoegg Laundry Egg, together with the Concentrated Fabric Conditioner and the Bamboo Kitchen Towels in a bid to go greener and reduce my laundry costs.  With the addition of Daniel to the family and now he is eating, teething, dribbling and generally making a mess my laundry has increased significantly!

wpid-img_20150922_214428.jpg

What is an Ecoegg?

It’s a device that holds these magic pellets to lift away dirt and clean your clothes without the use of harsh chemicals.  It replaces the need for washing powder or detergent and can be used again and again – It comes as either 54, 210 or 720 washes.  I have been road testing the 210 wash soft cotton Ecoegg.

What’s it like?

It looks very space age inside my machine, I love the design and the ease of use, the way you can just chuck it in with the washing and let it get on with it – no mess, no scooping, slopping, pouring or measuring.  Set up was pretty easy, one packet of black pellets and three packs of white pellets, leaving two packs spare.

wpid-img_20150930_170328.jpg wpid-dsc_0069.jpg

 

After about 72 washes (I do about 1 lot of laundry every other day so that would for me be about every 4 months) you need to top up with one pack of the white pellets.  So  it works out extremely good value and you’re helping to save the environment.

You can use your normal fabric softener, I decided to go the whole hog and go for the concentrated fabric conditioner, which is so concentrated you only need 3 squirts directly in your fabric conditioner draw making it come out at a cost of 3p per wash!  It’s a pretty big bottle so I know it will last ages, I was a bit worried about where I’d put it, but it does just about fit under my sink!

eco-friendly-go-green-competition

 

But does the Ecoegg clean your clothes as well as the big brands?

This is where I put the Ecoegg to the test!  In the instructions it says you can’t wash over 60 degrees and to not overfill the drum so that the egg can circulate, also you can’t use reduced water option.  You can use a stain remover as well if needed, either your own favourite or the Ecoegg stain remover.  My clothes came out nice and clean with a pure fresh fragrance, even with whites.  I found if I needed a little boost of fragrance I just added a tiny amount of my usual fabric softener as well and that’s all it needed.

wpid-img_20151002_142951.jpg

No photo filter used, the blue shirt is meant to be blue!

I decided to do the ultimate test – I recently did a Spartan mud and obstacle race (read about my adventure here) and my trainers were so muddy they need to be washed!  I did rinse off the lumps of mud before washing, I wasn’t that mean!

wpid-dsc_0282.jpg

Before

ecoegg-green-gogreen-blogger-review

After rinsing

ecoegg-review-gogreen-ecofriendly-parenting-blog-midwifeandlife.com

After washing with the Ecoegg

I think it passed the test!  We also road tested the Bamboo towels which are a strong kitchen towel that you use and then can wash and reuse.  I found them great to use as wiping up cloths, nice and soft with an added bonus that they can be washed and reused.

Bamboo-Towels-and-RIPPLE-Africa-low-res-500x500

 

 

Have you or would you swap your laundry products for Ecoegg products? They have a huge range of cleaning products available both online and in supermarkets. The dryer egg is next on my list!

Disclosure: I received these products in return for my open and honest review.

Join our Facebook Group

Img 20160424 wa0003

Free, friendly and supportive non-judgemental Facebook group for pregnancy and parenting

Powered by ConvertKit
Follow:
This post may contain affiliate links. For more information, see our disclosure policy

153 Comments

  1. October 6, 2015 / 9:30 am

    Is this a worldwide giveaway or just uk? And can you use it with modern cloth nappies?

        • October 6, 2015 / 12:26 pm

          From Ecoegg: Yes, they are great for washing cloth nappies. Loads of our customers use them on their nappies as it is kind to sensitive skin. In fact, we also are endorsed by the reusable nappy association as they think our product is great for using to clean cloth nappies.

  2. October 6, 2015 / 8:25 pm

    This looks fab. I had something similar once, but it sort of ended up making clothes smell like wet dogs. I’d love to try something a bit better but still eco friendly! Great giveaway.

  3. glenn hutton
    October 7, 2015 / 3:38 pm

    Looks like it works…

  4. iain maciver
    October 7, 2015 / 4:25 pm

    would love to try this out

  5. Rachel Craig
    October 7, 2015 / 5:49 pm

    Nice prize.

  6. Andrea Fletcher
    October 7, 2015 / 5:58 pm

    Would really like to try this.

  7. Claire D
    October 7, 2015 / 6:33 pm

    Please pick me

  8. mandydoherty65
    October 7, 2015 / 6:47 pm

    These sound perfect for my grandson who has sensitve skin

  9. Paul Scotland
    October 7, 2015 / 7:58 pm

    Love to give this a try

  10. Sean Downer
    October 7, 2015 / 8:55 pm

    Great stuff

  11. sarah-dawn pope
    October 7, 2015 / 9:26 pm

    Very interested in seeing the results you got using this product. Was always sceptical of the cleaning power. I need some for myself now.

  12. October 7, 2015 / 11:43 pm

    Looks fab thanks for a lovely giveaway

  13. October 8, 2015 / 12:04 am

    Sounds amazing! My other half has really sensitive skin so we keep trying different powders, etc, to find one that doesn’t result in itching.

  14. Abigail Cullen
    October 8, 2015 / 12:36 am

    Nice giveaway, would like to give this a try.

  15. October 8, 2015 / 9:03 am

    I’ve been so curious to try these for so long, they sound like a great idea x

  16. wendy malone
    October 8, 2015 / 12:51 pm

    love to see how this works.hope its good for dirty football kit.

  17. isis1981uk
    October 8, 2015 / 1:51 pm

    I’ve never heard of these before but they did a good job on the trainers!

  18. Tracy Newton
    October 8, 2015 / 3:46 pm

    I have never seem these before. I am impressed with the performance on the trainers. I spend a fortune on stain remover, detergent, fabric conditioner. These will be much more economical

  19. laura stewart
    October 8, 2015 / 3:57 pm

    hope to win xx

  20. clair downham
    October 8, 2015 / 4:57 pm

    would love to win one thankyou

  21. Lyla
    October 9, 2015 / 7:33 am

    I’d like to give this a try

  22. Sally Collingwood
    October 9, 2015 / 7:52 am

    Wow! this looke great, would love to try it.

  23. October 9, 2015 / 10:25 am

    This sounds great! With my son’s eczema and allergies, we are always looking for new products like this. Thanks for sharing ! #PickNMix

  24. Jodie Allen (@beautybabyblog)
    October 9, 2015 / 11:12 am

    That looks great! I honestly thought when you got to the end of the review you were going to tell us it didn’t work haha! I want my clothes completely clean and am not willing to compromise but this actually did an amazing job on those trainers! I could well be convinced! #picknmix

  25. Max Power
    October 9, 2015 / 2:16 pm

    What a good prize.

  26. Amandeep Sibia
    October 9, 2015 / 4:03 pm

    Great prize!

  27. Alix Smith
    October 9, 2015 / 7:03 pm

    Excellent prize – would love to try one of these!

  28. Ema J Lowe
    October 9, 2015 / 10:49 pm

    lovely review, been looking at these for a while and wondered if they would be so good as normal washing powder

  29. October 10, 2015 / 5:46 am

    WOW! that product did some major work on those shoes! LOL and This paper towels seem so awesome, I hope to get a chance to try that! Thank you so much for sharing this honest review!

  30. Lynn Heath
    October 10, 2015 / 12:09 pm

    What a great product, I’m sure it would be much kinder on the kids skin!

  31. carole n
    October 10, 2015 / 3:08 pm

    Great giveaway, would love to win thanks

  32. Donna W
    October 10, 2015 / 4:49 pm

    These are such a great idea and very reasonably priced too. It’s great to find an eco friendly product thats also easy on the pocket and works.

  33. claire griffiths
    October 10, 2015 / 5:43 pm

    i like the sound of these and not only saving the planet they are very good value as well

  34. October 10, 2015 / 6:52 pm

    this sounds great. and especially for people with eczema! Which is my post I have just linked up!

  35. Karen K
    October 11, 2015 / 12:14 pm

    This sounds excellent, I am always looking to save money, I may have to try these!

  36. Julie Ward
    October 11, 2015 / 12:43 pm

    Have heard of them before and its always should I or shouldn’t I try them. Haven’t tried them yet, maybe one day

  37. Pam Francis Gregory
    October 11, 2015 / 2:27 pm

    This would be great for my husband’s sensitive skin!

  38. October 11, 2015 / 8:42 pm

    These sound really good, always on the lookout for green ideas that really work – thanks for the giveaway and review

  39. October 12, 2015 / 12:49 pm

    I’ve never heard of the ecoegg before, what a clever invention!
    Thanks for linking up to #Picknmix
    Stevie x

  40. karen laing
    October 12, 2015 / 5:49 pm

    I’d love to try this eco egg,anything that’s good for the environment is good,who knows,many years from now and we may all be using them x

  41. Helen Atkins
    October 12, 2015 / 7:47 pm

    Looks really good and Eco friendly bonus

  42. Ruth Harwood
    October 13, 2015 / 8:26 am

    we’d love to try this!!

  43. October 13, 2015 / 9:04 pm

    Yes I would like to try this, as sometimes I’m not convinced even by the big name brands on shirt armpits at 40 deg #TriedTested

  44. Colette B
    October 13, 2015 / 9:39 pm

    I’m impressed with your shoes! I dread to think what the laundry costs must be in our house.
    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

  45. October 14, 2015 / 10:40 am

    I keep meaning to try a Ecoegg, we do so much washing and I think this might save us a small fortune! Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested

    • October 14, 2015 / 6:10 pm

      It’s working well for me so far already saved money

  46. October 14, 2015 / 6:08 pm

    Thanks for the great giveaway. This Ecoegg sounds fantastic! Fingers Crossed x

  47. Christine Caple
    October 14, 2015 / 10:39 pm

    I would love to try this.

  48. October 14, 2015 / 11:21 pm

    The ecoegg sounds fantastic, I’ve been wanting to try one for ages!

  49. Lorraine mabbitt
    October 15, 2015 / 6:28 pm

    The ecoegg seems a great idea would love to try X

  50. Kirsty Fox
    October 15, 2015 / 11:07 pm

    Looks good, please count me in.

  51. Nat thomason
    October 16, 2015 / 2:54 am

    Would like to try this 🙂

  52. Lauren Old
    October 16, 2015 / 4:57 pm

    This looks great, need this to wash a pair of boots that look slightly past it!

  53. Jo m welsh
    October 17, 2015 / 8:09 am

    A great prize would be very handy

  54. wendy malone
    October 17, 2015 / 6:22 pm

    im going to buy one of these and go green.

  55. Samantha Rummens
    October 18, 2015 / 1:35 am

    great giveaway

  56. david cavender
    October 18, 2015 / 3:33 am

    it’s a great giveaway-love to try it

  57. emmaellams
    October 18, 2015 / 3:26 pm

    I would love to try this, I’m always looking for new ways to be eco-friendly.

  58. Gwyn Sharps
    October 18, 2015 / 4:30 pm

    What a difference to those trainers! Would love to give this a go.

  59. Kelly Hanson
    October 18, 2015 / 6:19 pm

    Great idea! Fab giveaway 🙂

  60. Janine Atkin
    October 18, 2015 / 6:40 pm

    id be interested to give this a go 🙂

  61. Emily Clark
    October 18, 2015 / 10:18 pm

    Excellent giveaway!

  62. Lucy Carter
    October 18, 2015 / 11:02 pm

    I’d love to try an ecoegg

  63. October 18, 2015 / 11:15 pm

    sounds fab – my trainers could always do with a wash 😀

  64. Mark Beynon
    October 19, 2015 / 4:33 am

    Unbelievable, looks great.

  65. Danielle Baker
    October 19, 2015 / 10:14 am

    Fab giveaway

  66. Michelle Jenkins
    October 19, 2015 / 2:03 pm

    Great prize I would love to try this x

  67. lizzyjanecooper
    October 19, 2015 / 1:59 pm

    This looks great! Amazing giveaway 🙂

  68. Julie McDonald
    October 19, 2015 / 3:21 pm

    Id like to give these a try, I spend a fortune on laundry products,my four sons could certainly put them to the ultimate test

  69. Lisa Houston
    October 19, 2015 / 3:30 pm

    Sounds reall good. Would love the chance to try it

  70. Debbie Preston
    October 19, 2015 / 3:32 pm

    I’ve always wondered if ecoegg really works

  71. Donna Caldwell
    October 19, 2015 / 5:29 pm

    Can’t believe how clean you got the trainers

    • October 19, 2015 / 5:31 pm

      They did still smell a bit like the lake though! Good luck

  72. Chris Fletcher
    October 19, 2015 / 6:45 pm

    This looks great, not only good for the environment but saves money too! I’d need to try it to be convinced though!

  73. Nancy Bradford
    October 19, 2015 / 9:09 pm

    This looks very useful. I’d love to try it x

  74. Jemima Nisbet
    October 19, 2015 / 9:25 pm

    This is a fab invention. Would love to try it.

  75. Kay Foster
    October 20, 2015 / 8:06 am

    Great give-a-way, would love to try it out, I’m always thinking about the environment and how I can do my little bit!

  76. victoria thurgood
    October 20, 2015 / 1:14 pm

    would like to try these

  77. Nuta Roberts
    October 20, 2015 / 2:12 pm

    I have always been hesitant to try these Ecoeggs. But after reading your blog and seeing the pictures. I would love to trial them. I think as u get older I am more concerned with the damage we do to our environment. And changing something as easy as buying an ecoegg to make a difference, has to done. If it works as you say I shall be converting my family and friends…I am like a dog with a bone when I love something new.

    • October 20, 2015 / 2:15 pm

      It’s definitely worth trying, I won’t go back now.

  78. jemma dwyer
    October 20, 2015 / 2:53 pm

    Id love to try this 😀

  79. Victoria Dixon
    October 20, 2015 / 4:49 pm

    I have been researching this and would love to try out as my washer is on a lot!

  80. Claire Nelson
    October 20, 2015 / 4:58 pm

    Amazing results, I would love to try it!

  81. Pauline Wilson
    October 20, 2015 / 5:25 pm

    I have never really considered using one of these as I was doubtful about the cleaning power but your washing looks like it has come out nicely laundered

  82. Val Pownall
    October 20, 2015 / 5:51 pm

    Oh gosh! That sounds amazing!

  83. Hayley Todd
    October 20, 2015 / 6:11 pm

    I have heard about Ecoegg’s but wasn’t really sure what they were all about! Having read your review they sound absolutely fabulous and just what I am looking for! Thank you for the opportunity to win some!

  84. Tracey Tedford
    October 20, 2015 / 6:33 pm

    would love to try this

  85. Karl Borowy
    October 20, 2015 / 8:16 pm

    clean up with this

  86. Natalie Crossan
    October 20, 2015 / 8:18 pm

    would love to try these x

  87. October 20, 2015 / 10:04 pm

    These look very interesting. I have to be honest with you, I’d never really heard of them before but I’m definitely intrigued now!

  88. Victoria Prince
    October 20, 2015 / 11:34 pm

    This sounds brilliant, not come across them before! I’m impressed

  89. Megan Evans
    December 14, 2017 / 10:57 am

    I’m curious, I’ve been thinking about buying one of these for a while. Do you still use the ecoegg? Do they last well and continue to work?
    Thanks.

    • Midwife and Life
      December 14, 2017 / 2:56 pm

      Not any more but I did use it successfully. It cleans just as good but you don’t get as nice a scent as with other brands. It saves a lot of money though!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge